Winter 2018 Events & Seminars

Date Category Speaker Title
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 Physics Colloquia Stephen Morris Consider the Icicle
Thursday, January 18, 2018 Graduate Seminar Series Sally Valbuena Burbano The Standard Model SU(3)C x SU(2)L x U(1)Y and its extension SU(3)C x SU(4)L x U(1)X
Thursday, January 25, 2018 Graduate Seminar Series Eamonn Corrigan Bob, Bytes, and the Blockchain: An Introduction to Mathematical Cryptography
Monday, January 29, 2018 Seminars Dr. Katerina Chatziioanou Astrophysics and Nuclear Physics with Gravitational Waves from Binary Neutron Star Coalescences
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 Physics Colloquia Ani Aprahamian Is the nucleus a "normal" quantum mechanical system?
Thursday, February 1, 2018 Graduate Seminar Series Tyson Schilbach GW170817: The First Paired Waves of Light and Space
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 Seminars Dr. David A. Nichols Gravitational waves: Exploring the strongly curved side of the Universe
Thursday, February 8, 2018 Graduate Seminar Series Jeff De Vlugt Identifying the sugars that are associated with the integral membrane protein Anabaena Sensory Rhodopsin
Monday, February 12, 2018 Seminars Dr. Daniel Siegel Neutron star mergers and the cosmic origin of the heavy elements
Thursday, February 15, 2018 Graduate Seminar Series Andrew Harris What is physics good for anyway?
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 Seminars Dr. Riccardo Penco From superradiance to superfluidity: effective theories of point-like particles
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 Physics Colloquia Masoud Jelokhani-Niaraki Views on Interaction of Antimicrobial Peptides with Biological Membranes
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 Seminars Joanne O'Meara Experiments in Teaching Physics
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 Physics Colloquia Fotios Diakonos
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 Physics Colloquia James LeBlanc
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 Physics Colloquia Scott Van Bommel
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Physics Colloquia Karen Cummings