News related to Teaching Excellence

Guelph Alumnus James Ball receives the Irwin Talesnick award for Excellence in Teaching

Congratulations to James Ball on winning the Irwin Talesnick Award for Excellence in Teaching! James Ball, currently a physics teacher at Guelph's John F. Ross CVI, completed a Bachelor of Science in 1985 and a Masters of Science degree in 1987 at the University of Guelph (Department of Physics).

The award, from the Science Teachers’ Association of Ontario (STAO), recognizes one teacher annually for unique and extraordinary accomplishments in teaching science to students in the province.

University of Guelph Physics Alumnus, Glenn Wagner MSc Guelph 1994, is one of 50 international finalists for the Global Teacher Prize

Glenn Wagner, a science and mathematics teacher at a high school in Fergus, is one of 50 people in the running for the Global Teacher Prize.

The Global Teacher Prize is a one million dollar prize awarded annually by the Varkey Foundation to "a super-special teacher", or as the tagline on Global Teacher Prize website says: "$1 Million to Celebrate One Outstanding Teacher".

The Top 10 will be announced in mid-February 2015 and the winner of the Global Teacher Prize will be announced at the Global Education and Skills Forum in Dubai on 16th March 2015.

Martin Williams - Distinguished Professor Award for Excellence in Teaching F14

Congratulations to Dr. Martin Williams. He will be awarded the Distinguished Professor Award for Innovation in Teaching. at the Annual University of Guelph Faculty Association (UGFA) Teaching Awards & New Member Reception to be held October 16, 2014. The recipients of these awards are selected from nominations made by students and colleagues in recognition of their impressive contributions to University teaching and library services.

Professor Martin Williams Receives Recognition at the SSC-UAIC Reception

Professor Martin Williams was among the honored invitees at the "Recognition of the Contribution of Teaching Reception" presented by the Student Senate Caucus & the Undergraduate Academic Information Centre. The reception, held on Monday March 31st, recognized contributions made to the academic experience and celebrated the importance of teaching in post-secondary education. Professor Williams was nominated by Ms. Anita Acai, a Bachelor of Science student.

Ms. Anita Acai had the following to say about Professor Williams in her nomination:

UoG physics alumnus, Glenn Wagner, wins 2011 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP

The 2011 CAP Award for Excellence in Teaching High School/CEGEP Physics - Ontario will be awarded to Mr. Glenn Wagner, Centre Wellington DHS (Centre Wellington, ON), his skill at using differentiated teaching methods to significantly improve student performance. Glenn has established himself as a teacher that draws students into physics. A master at differentiated instruction, Glenn incorporates a broad range of teaching strategies such as peer instruction, interdependent group work, concept mapping, and problem-based learning methods in his classroom.

Congratulations to Prof. Joanne O’Meara, winner of 2011 CAP Medal for Excellence

The 2011 CAP Medal for Excellence in Teaching Undergraduate Physics will be awarded to Joanne O'Meara, University of Guelph, for her outstanding and innovative work in the classroom, impressive range of engagement in physics education research, and her broad reaching impact beyond the walls of her own classes, from the primary school level on up to the development of a national university-level physics curriculum.

News Archive