First place and honourable mention for physics student presenters at CUPC 2009

Posted on Tuesday, October 6th, 2009

Eleven physics undergraduate students attended the 45th Canadian Undergraduate Physics Conference, held in Edmonton Alberta from October 1 - 5, 2009. Congratulations to Matt Barrett who received an honourable mention for his presentation on Bacteria, Fluorescence Microscopy, and Protein Oscillations, and Isdin Oke who won first place in the poster session for his poster titled: Preparation, Fabrication and Characterization of Cellulose Nanocrystals.

The following is a list of the students who presented and their poster titles:

  • Matthew Barrett (Supervisor: J. Dutcher)
    Measuring Viability of Immobilized Bacteria Through min Protein Oscillations
  • Aidan Brown (Supervisors: R. Wickham & J. Dutcher)
    Probe of beta-Lactoglobulin Stabilized Oil-in-water Emulsions Using Dynamic Light Scattering and Single Molecule Force Spectroscopy
  • Ryan Dunlop (Supervisor: C. Svensson)
    GEANT4 Monte Carlo Simulations of the Spectrometer for Internal Conversion Electrons (SPICE)
  • Kent Fisher (Supervisor: E. Nicol)
    Penetration Depth of High Tc Cuprate Superconductors
  • Daryl Good (Supervisor: R. Wickham)
    Self-Consistent Field Theory of Polyelectrolytes
  • Evelyn Lake (Supervisors: L. Brown & V. Ladizhansky)
    Investigations of Dynamic Quality and of an Uncharacteristic Lipid Component
  • Fraser McKay (Supervisors: J. Dutcher & G. Harauz)
    Electrostatic Effect on Myelin Basic Protein (MBP) Absorption/Insertion to a Lipid Monolayer
  • Corina Nantais (SNOLAB)
    Optimization of Source and Back PMT Position for Na-22 Rates with DEAP-1 at SNOLAB
  • Isdin Oke (Supervisor: J. Dutcher)
    Preparation, Deposition and Characterization of Cellulose Nanocrystals
  • Emily Ritz (Supervisor: V. Ladizhansky)
    Long Range 3D Chemical Shift Correlation Experiments using Homonuclear Rotary Resonance

Find related news by keyword

News Archive