Ollerhead Scholarship in Physics

Established in honour of Professor Emeritus Robin W. Ollerhead, Chair of the Department of Physics 1982-1993. The award cannot be held concurrently with another award from the Physics Department and can be held only once. No application required.

Robin W. Ollerhead obtained his BSc from the University of Western Ontario in 1959. He then went on to complete both his MSc (1960) and PhD (1964) at Yale University. After working as an Assistant Research Officer at Chalk River Nuclear Lab for several years, he joined the Department of Physics in 1968 and was Chair of the Department of Physics from 1983 to 1992.

Dr. Ollerhead was a member of the research group led by Arthur B. McDonald, who won the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics for “the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass”. The Breakthrough Prize Foundation also recognized the 2015 Nobel Prize winning research and Robin was among the winners of the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics.

Amount: One award of $1,750

Qualifications: Students registered in a major offered by the Department of Physics who have completed all required courses normally taken in the first 5 semesters of that major who has completed 12.5 credits and achieved a minimum 80% average in the required Physics courses normally taken in semesters 3, 4 and 5 of their major.


Year Winner
2021 Elijah Kent
2020 Michael Stuck
2019 Ephraim Dublin
2018 Chandler Ross