Egelstaff Scholarship

In honour of University Professor Emeritus and former Chair of the Department of Physics, Peter A. Egelstaff. Application is not required.

Peter A. Egelstaff obtained his BSc (1946) and PhD 1954 in London England.  He emigrated to Canada in 1957 to take a position as group leader at Atomic Energy of Canada Limited in Chalk River, Ontario, for two years.  He moved back to the UK as Special Merit Senior Appointment at the Atomic Energy Research Establishment in Harwell, UK until 1970 when he returned to Canada to take up the position of Chair of the Department of Physics from 1970-75.  It was rumoured that during his five-year tenure the Physics Machine Shop was occupied solely by Peter's research work, which was in the field of neutron scattering for the determination of dynamics and structure of liquids. In 1980 Peter was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.  He retired in 1990 and  was honoured as University Professor Emeritus. Dr. Egelstaff passed away January 18, 2015, in his 90th year. 

Amount: One award of $500.

Qualifications: Student who has completed 12.5 course credits, is currently registered in one of the majors in Physics and has a high cumulative average (of at least 80%) in the required Physics courses normally taken in Years 2 & 3 of the major.


Year Winner
2021 Josh Cadogan
2020 Sangeet-Pal Pannu
2019 Philip Lemaitre
2018 Matthew Dutcher
2017 Jeffrey De Vlugt
2016 Lauren Taylor
2015 Shaun Pepper
2014 Kristy Rieck
2013 Andrew Finlay
2012 Stephen Glazier
2011 John Malcolm
2010 William Anderson
2009 Matthew Barrett
2008 Bradley Leufkens
2007 Wesley Ernst
2006 Gregory Demand
2005 James Wong
2004 Paul Finlay
2003 Robert Diplock
2002 Sean Graham
2000 Tara Hargreaves