Nuclear Physics Group


Nuclear Physics Group 2019
Nuclear Physics Group 2019

Our research group uses the atomic nucleus as a laboratory for the investigation of a wide variety of fundamental physics topics, ranging from the microscopic description of collective excitation modes in finite quantum systems and the evolution of quantum shell structure in nuclei far from stability to precision tests of the electroweak Standard Model of particle physics and searches for the new physics beyond it. These studies are performed with state-of-the-art gamma-ray detector arrays such as the TRIUMF-ISAC Gamma-Ray Escape Suppressed Spectrometer (TIGRESS) and Gamma-Ray Infrastructure For Fundamental Investigations of Nuclei (GRIFFIN) located at the Isotope Separator and Accelerator (ISAC) facility at TRIUMF in Vancouver, Canada.



Name Role Supervision
Liliana Caballero Faculty  
Paul Garrett Faculty  
Alex Gezerlis Faculty  
Carl Svensson Faculty  
Vinzenz Bildstein Research Assistant  
Konstantin Mashtakov Postdoctoral Fellow Carl Svensson
Robin Coleman PhD Candidate Carl Svensson
Jayani Dissanayake PhD Candidate Alex Gezerlis
Beau Greaves PhD Candidate Carl Svensson
Bryn Knight PhD Candidate Liliana Caballero
Liam Schmidt PhD Candidate Carl Svensson
Sally Valbuena PhD Candidate Paul Garrett
Tammy Zidar PhD Candidate Carl Svensson
Zarin Ahmed PhD Candidate Paul Garrett
Ryan Curry PhD Candidate Alex Gezerlis
Sangeet-Pal Pannu PhD Candidate Paul Garrett

Funding Partners

Our research is supported by several national and provincial agencies.