News related to Alumni

125 Years of Physics

MacNaughton Building concept sketch

2020 marks the 125th year of Guelph Physics!

Established in 1895, the Department of Physics has been part of the University of Guelph since the days when it was the Ontario Agricultural College. This year we will be celebrating Guelph Physics 125 with historical posts, events and outreach.

Alumnus Mats Selen named 2016 U.S. Professor of the Year


 Physics Illinois
Mats Selen named 2016 U.S. Professor of the Year.
Photo Credit: Physics Illinois

Congratulations to alumnus Mats Selen on being named 2016 U.S. Professor of the Year by Carnegie Foundation and Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE)! Mats Selen is being recognized as the Outstanding Doctoral and Research Universities Professor.

Guelph Alumnus James Ball receives the Irwin Talesnick award for Excellence in Teaching

Congratulations to James Ball on winning the Irwin Talesnick Award for Excellence in Teaching! James Ball, currently a physics teacher at Guelph's John F. Ross CVI, completed a Bachelor of Science in 1985 and a Masters of Science degree in 1987 at the University of Guelph (Department of Physics).

The award, from the Science Teachers’ Association of Ontario (STAO), recognizes one teacher annually for unique and extraordinary accomplishments in teaching science to students in the province.

University of Guelph Physics Alumnus, Glenn Wagner MSc Guelph 1994, is one of 50 international finalists for the Global Teacher Prize

Glenn Wagner, a science and mathematics teacher at a high school in Fergus, is one of 50 people in the running for the Global Teacher Prize.

The Global Teacher Prize is a one million dollar prize awarded annually by the Varkey Foundation to "a super-special teacher", or as the tagline on Global Teacher Prize website says: "$1 Million to Celebrate One Outstanding Teacher".

The Top 10 will be announced in mid-February 2015 and the winner of the Global Teacher Prize will be announced at the Global Education and Skills Forum in Dubai on 16th March 2015.

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Finlay - 2012-13 DNP Thesis Prize

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Finlay, who has been awarded the 2012-13 Thesis Prize by the Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP) of the Canadian Association of Physicists for the top Ph.D. thesis in Nuclear Physics in Canada. Paul's Ph.D.

News Archive