Congratulations to GWPI poster award winners

Congratulations to this year's poster award winners at the Guelph-Waterloo Physics Institute (GWPI) poster session.

The winners from Guelph were:

  • Taylor Binnington and Adam Pound (joint poster The physics of relativistic binaries)
  • James LeBlanc (Specific heat of underdoped curpates: RVB versus Fermi arcs)
  • Isdin Oke (Preparation, deposition, and characterization of cellulose nanocrystals)

Lichi Shi presents at Gordon Research Seminar on Magnetic Resonance

Congratulations to graduate student Lichi Shi, whose work was selected for oral presentation at the Gordon Research Seminar on Magnetic Resonance. Lichi's presentation, entitled Solid-state NMR study of Proteorhodopsin: spectroscopic assignments, secondary structure and dynamics in the lipid environment, took place on June 13th, 2009.

The Gordon Research Conferences provide an international forum for the presentation and discussion of frontier research in the biological, chemical, and physical sciences, and their related technologies.

Prof. Joanne O'Meara to receive Special Merit Teaching Award

Congratulations to Prof. Joanne O'Meara, who will be the recipient of the 2009 University of Guelph Faculty Association Special Merit Teaching Award for the College of Physical & Engineering Science. The award will be presented in October when the Faculty Association hosts a wine and cheese reception devoted to honoring teaching award winners.

Leonid Brown selected as a member of the Editorial Board of the Biophysical Journal

Professor Leonid Brown was selected to serve on the editorial board of the Biophysical Journal for a three year term starting July 1, 2009. Members of the editorial board act as editors in areas of their expertise. The Biophysical Journal is a leading biweekly research journal in biophysics published by the Cell Press on behalf of the American Biophysical Society. It has a current impact factor of 4.6 and wide international readership.

Kevin Miller wins the CLS AUM Best Poster Prize

At the Annual Users' Meeting of the Canadian Light Source (CLS) held at Saskatoon SK last week (June 17th-18th), Kevin Miller (MSc student) from our department entered the competition for the best student poster sponsored by the Canadian Institute of Synchrotron Radiation (CISR) and won the first prize ($500) with a poster titled \"XAFS of Nickel Silicide Thin Films\".

News Archive