Chair Announcement

Tony Vannelli, Dean, College of Physical and Engineering Science is pleased to announce that Dr. Eric Poisson has agreed to become the next Chair of the Department of Physics beginning a five year term on July 1, 2008.

R.B. Reynolds Award Winner 2008 - Amanda O'Halloran

This medal is awarded to a graduating student in the Spring semester who has completed semester 8 of any of the majors in Physics and who has obtained the highest cumulative average in the required Physics courses of that program, normally taken in semester 5 to 8. Presentation of the award to Amanda O'Halloran was made by Robert L. Brooks, Chair of the Department. 

James Wong defends M.Sc. thesis.

The Physics Department congratulates James Wong on successfuly defending his M.Sc. thesis on April 21, 2008. The title of his thesis was DESIGN STUDY of DESCANT - Deuterated Scintillator Array for Neutron Tagging.

Interview of Professor Eric Poisson, Candidate for Chair

The Chair Selection Committee met on April 16, 2008 to review the applicants for this position. The Committee would like to proceed and interview Eric Poisson for this position on Wednesday April 30, 2008. Professor Poisson has kindly agreed to be available for this day long process that includes public presentation (9:00 am MacNaughton 113), followed by questions and answers, meeting of Dean's Council, faculty, staff, students of the department and the Chair Selection Committee at the end. The agenda is attached with this e-mail and will be placed in all faculty and staff mailboxes.

Search for new CHAIR of the Department of Physics has begun

A search has begun, internal to the university, for a new Chair of the Department of Physics. The initial appointment will be for five years to begin July 1, 2008 or soon thereafter. Please see below for more information.

News Archive